PARTY RECAP: Polo by Twilight

Contributor Lindsey went to Polo by Twilight last week, check out her party recap below!

Party met polo last Tuesday evening for the 37th annual Palamountain scholarship benefit held at the Saratoga Polo Grounds. The benefit, named in honor of Joseph C. And Anne T. Palamountain, former President and first lady of Skidmore College, is one of the college’s biggest scholarship fundraising events. Alumni C. Jerome (‘06) and wife Emily (‘07) Mopsik Co-chaired the spectacular evening with help from sponsors Arthur J. Gallagher Risk Management Service, Sysco, Battenkill Valley Creamery, Sodexo Campus Services and many others. 

A twilight polo match provided entertainment for guests Tim and Heather Mabee, Mike and Linda Toohey, Virginia Kraft Payson and Angelo Calbone. Inside the tent, Jay and Alysa Arnold, Marcia White, Susan Beckerman and Nancy Hamilton were spotted browsing the amazing silent and live auction items. Some Saratoga political figures came out to show support, Mayor Joanne Yepsen and Assemblywoman Carrie Woerner along with Skip Carlson of the Saratoga Casino, Jim Rossi and Mike Bucci of the Saratoga Polo Association. Some of the unique live auction items up for grabs this year included a Maserati experience for four and the opportunity to present the trophy in the winner’s circle at the Saratoga Racetrack. After making bids and sipping the refreshing signature cocktail of Aperol, fresh lemon juice, simple syrup, Tito’s and basil guests made thier way to the dining tent. Agatha Benton, her sister Leslie Valk Benton and Lance and Bernadette Sprinkle stopped to strike a pose at the photo booth on the way. 

Once inside it was time to mangia. The highly anticipted gourmet buffet prepared by Skidmore’s dining staff did not disappoint. Crowd favorites included the on-site hand stretched mozzarella, pan seared mini crab cakes on micro cob salad and of course the desserts; rich gluten free chocolate cake small bites kept a crowd around the table. 

After appetites were satisfied, Skidmore President Philip Glotzbach gave welcoming remarks and the 3rd annual Anne T. Palamountain Scholar award was presented to Claire Davenport (‘08), a truly remarkable woman. As the evening wound down and guests were departing a picture perfect sunset fell over the grounds. Our mouths are already watering for next year’s Palamountain benefit.

Posted on August 2, 2016 and filed under PARTY RECAPS.